Skip navigation
New interactive curriculum plans and website

Oak National Academy Logo

Unit Overview: The animal kingdom

  • Identify and name a variety of common animals including fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals
  • Identify and name a variety of common animals that are carnivores, herbivores and omnivores
  • Describe and compare the structure of a variety of common animals (fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals, including pets)
  • Notice that animals, including humans, have offspring which grow into adults
  • Find out about and describe the basic needs of animals, including humans, for survival (water, food and air)

For next step we recommend the unit: Habitats.


6 lessons

What is a living thing?

In this lesson, we will be learning about living things and the features of living things. All living things need to be able to breathe, produce waste, grow and change, feed and reproduce. We will then finish the lesson looking in more detail at different types of diets that animals may have.

  • 1 Quiz
  • 22m Video
  • Presentation(PPT)
  • Worksheet
  • Transcript

Which animal families are invertebrates?

In this lesson, we are going to be learning about 3 different families of animals which are invertebrates. Invertebrates are animals which do not have a backbone. They either have a soft body, like worms and jellyfish, or they have a hard outer casing covering their body, like spiders and crabs. We will be learning specifically about crustaceans, arachnids and insects which are types of invertebrates.

  • 2 Quizzes
  • 23m Video
  • Presentation(PPT)
  • Transcript